subscribe: Daily Newsletter


African women to be honoured


The New African Woman Forum Awards has announced a shortlist of more than 60 remarkable women who have made significant contributions in their respective fields. The winners, as voted by New African Woman magazine’s readers, will be announced on 10 March in London.
The awards aim to honour extraordinary women who have made significant achievements in their countries and communities. They are given across 11 categories: Business; Politics and Public Office; Education; Science, Technology and Innovation; Finance and Banking; Media; Sport; Arts and Culture; Civil Society; Rising Star; and New African Woman of the Year.
The inaugural New African Forum and awards will take place in London two days after the International Women’s Day (IWD), held this year under the theme: “Planet 50-50 by 2030: Step It Up for Gender Equality”.
Leila Ben Hassen, chair of the NAWF judging panel, says that the global theme for IWD is a call to action for parity to close the gender gap, which is squarely aligned with the NAW Forum theme, designed to celebrate women’s leadership and excellence on the continent.
“The New African Woman Forum brings together over 150 leaders from business, academia and civil society, as well as key decision makers from the public and private sector. It will also offer a unique platform to meet, network and share the success stories, experiences and challenges of the African Women who are changing the game on the continent. My co-judges and I look forward to discovering more about these incredible women of Africa and selecting this year’s winners,” she says.
The judging panel comprises Leila Ben Hassen, GM of IC Publications; reGina Jane Jere, editorof  New African Woman; Onike Nicol-Houra, principal business development officer at African Development Bank; Amadou Mahtar Ba, co-founder and executive chairman of AllAfrica Global Media and member of UN Secretary-General’s High Level Panel on Women’s Economic Empowerment; and Dr Nkosana Moyo, executive chairman for the Mandela Institute for Development Studies (MINDS).
The full list of New African Women Awards Nominees is:

* Clare Akamanzi (Rwanda)
* Marie Diongoye Konaté (Ivory Coast)
* Olajumoke Adenowo (Nigeria)
* Salwa Idrissi Akhannouch (Morocco)
* Sibongile Sambo (South Africa)
* Swaady Martin (Ivory Coast)

Politics and Public Office
* Ameenah Gurib-Fakim (Mauritius)
* Amina J. Mohammed (Nigeria)
* Bineta Diop (Senegal)
* Fatima Haram Acyl (Chad)
* Jeanine Mabunda Lioko Mudiayi (DR Congo)
* Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma (South Africa)
* Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka (South Africa)

* Bruktawit Tigabu (Ethiopia)
* Elizabeth Akua-Nyarko Patterson (Ghana)
* Maureen Maisha Auma (Kenya)
* Naadiya Moosajee (South Africa)
* Noella Coursaris Musunka (DR Congo)
* Wanjiru Kamau-Rutenberg (Kenya)

Science, Technology and Innovation
* Chinwe Ohajuruka (Nigeria)
* Habiba Bouhamed Chaabouni (Tunisia)
* Jamila Abass (Kenya) * Sara Menker (Ethiopia)
* Thérèse Izay Kirongozi (DR Congo)
* Winnifred Selby (Ghana)

Finance and Banking
* Arunma Oteh (Nigeria)
* Hela Cheikhrouhou (Tunisia)
* Najwa El Iraki (Morocco)
* Omokehinde Ojomuyide (Nigeria)
* Sipho S. Moyo (Zimbabwe)
* Viola Llewellyn (Cameroon)
* Viviane Bakayoko (DR Congo)

* Dounia Ben Mohamed (Tunisia)
* Eloïne Barry (Guinea)
* Lerato Mbele (South Africa)
* Mo Abudu (Nigeria)
* Mona Eltahawy (Egypt)
* Yvonne Ndege (Kenya) SPORT
* Almaz Ayana (Ethiopia)
* Blessing Okagbare (Nigeria)
* Cathy Phiri (Zambia)
* Genzebe Dibaba Keneni (Ethiopia)
* Habiba Ghribi (Tunisia)
* Neku Atawodi (Nigeria)

Arts and Culture
* Amma Asante (Ghana)
* Bibi Bakare-Yusuf (Nigeria)
* Bisi Silva (Nigeria)
* Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Nigeria)
* Ellah Wakatama-Allfrey (Zimbabwe)
* Nike Davies-Okundaye (Nigeria)
* Uzo Aduba (Nigeria)

Civil Society
* Aisha Muhammed-Oyebode (Nigeria)
* Debbie Ariyo (Nigeria)
* Elizabeth Nyamayaro (Zimbabwe)
* Kaleba Ngoie Kasongo (DR Congo)
* Leyla Hussein and Nimco Ali (Somalia)
* Obiageli Ezekwesili (Nigeria)
* Toyin Saraki (Nigeria)
* Zainab Hawa Bangura (Sierra Leone)

Rising Star
* Amy Jadesimi (Nigeria)
* Anne Kansiime (Uganda)
* Hannah Wanjie Ryder (Kenya)
* NoViolet Bulawayo (Zimbabwe)
* Vivian Onano (Kenya)
* Zuriel Oduwole (Nigeria)