The first graduates from Huawei’s Authorised Information and Network Academy (HAINA) at the Tshwane University of Technology (TUT) received their certificates today.
The HAINA initiative is a global ICT technology education programme, jointly launched with TUT in April 2015, and was the first HAINA established in the southern Africa region.
Huawei, together with participating channel partners EOH, Mustek, Pinnacle, Datacentrix and Gijima, presented HCNA-Router and Switch certificates to 15 HAINA-trained graduates from TUT.
As part of their graduation, interviews were hosted for these students to meet Huawei’s partner companies, to be given first priority for internships and employment opportunities.
“We are really proud of the graduates. By working with universities to provide industry-specific, scenario-based training and skills that students really need, Huawei hopes to cultivate a better ICT talent eco-system for South Africa,” says David Feng, solutions director of Huawei Enterprise South Africa.
“We will continue to encourage students to participate in Huawei’s Career Certifications and look forward to incorporating these certifications into our customers’ ICT talent development systems,”
He says the event marks an important milestone in Huawei’s strategy of building the Huawei Ecosystem Talent Alliance to form a talent ecological chain consisting of students/public, network academies/HALPs, and partners/customers. Huawei has established a complete global ICT training and certification system, including inhouse training centres, authorised external training centres, and joint education projects with more than 220 universities worldwide.
The HAINA is a partnership program which authorises universities and other tertiary education institutes to deliver Huawei certification courses to their students. The programme aspires to help accelerate the development of educational tools and promote the development of the local ICT technical workforce.
To date, Huawei has launched the HAINA program to five universities in South Africa: Tshwane University of Technology (TUT), the University of Johannesburg (UJ), the Durban University of Technology (DUT) and the Vaal University of Technology (VUT), as well as University of the Witwatersrand (Wits).