subscribe: Daily Newsletter

 

Facebook apologises but still tracks users

0 comments

Facebook has admitted that it violated users' privacy, apologised for the way it handled the incident and given users the opportunity to switch off the notorious Beacon system completely. 

However, while CEO Mark Zuckerberg, admitted that the company made mistakes in how it implemented its new advertising system, it's still running and there has been no word on if the company has stopped tracking its users' off-Facebook activities.
Zuckerberg writes on his blog: "About a month ago, we released a new feature called Beacon to try to help people share information with their friends about things they do on the web. We've made a lot of mistakes building this feature, but we've made even more with how we've handled them.
"We simply did a bad job with this release, and I apologize for it. While I am disappointed with our mistakes, we appreciate all the feedback we have received from our users."
Beacon is the system that tracks what users are doing on advertisers' Web sites and then alerts their friends to their activities. Critics slammed the fact that it shared users' information unless they clicked on an easy-to-miss opt-out button that only appeared for a few seconds.
Despite the outcry, Facebook took some time to change this problem, making Beacon an opt-in system just a couple of days ago. Yesterday, it gave users the option to turn it off altogether.
Missing from Zuckerberg's statement, however, are answers to the more serious questions arising from information about Facebook users' activities being tracked by the company even when they're not logged in to Facebook, or have switched Beacon off.
This information still flows back to Facebook.
Zuckerberg alluded to this issue, but failed to allay concerns. "If you select that you don't want to share some Beacon actions or if you turn off Beacon, then Facebook won't store those actions even when partners send them to Facebook," he says.