Dr Bill Venter, founder and chairman of The Altron Group, has been named as this year’s recipient of the international Picmet Leadership in Technology Management Award, by the executive committee of Picmet.

The award was presented to Dr Venter at the annual banquet and conference of Picmet this evening (29 July) in Cape Town by the president and CEO of Picmet, Prof Dundar Kocaoglu.
Picmet (Portland International Centre for Management of Engineering and Technology under the auspices of Portland State University) was established in 1989 to facilitate the generation and dissemination of knowledge in technology management worldwide. The first Picmet conference was held in Portland, Oregan (US) in 1991 and since then it has been held annually, one year in Portland and one year in an overseas location – this year being Cape Town.
Previous winners of the award include heavy-weights such as Andrew Grove, former CEO of Intel; Jack Welch, former CEO of General Electric Corporation USA; Jong-Yong Yun, CEO of Samsung Electronics in Korea; Donna Shirley, former manager of NASA’s Mars Exploration Program (USA); Norman Augustine, CEO of Lockheed;  Carleton Fiorina, former CEO of Hewlitt Packard; and Gunnar Hambraeus, chairman of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences in Sweden.
Commenting on the importance of the award internationally, Prof Kocaoglu says:  “This prestigious award recognizes and honours individuals world wide who have provided leadership in managing technology by establishing a vision, providing a strategic direction and facilitating the implementation strategies for that vision.
"The award presented to Dr Venter is in our worldwide 'Leadership in Industry' category and acknowledges the excellence which Dr Venter has provided as an industry executive and an entrepreneur in South Africa’s high-technology industry for the past 43 years.”
Dr Venter has been recognized by seven universities both locally and abroad with honorary doctorates for is contribution to technology, commerce and industry during past years and in 2006, he received the Lifetime Achievers Award from the Sunday Times.