While Telkom won a MyBroadband award yesterday for its DSL offering, Minister of Communication Ivy Matesepe-Casaburri came in for some flak at the event.

The MyBroadband awards are different from many others in that they are voted for by consumers – with the people actually using the services recognising excellence where it is due.
The best Internet Service Provider of the Year was won by Axxess with an overall customer satisfaction rate of 89% lifting them above the competition.
The best broadband service was won by Telkom's DSL 4 Mbps service which narrowly defeated MTN and Vodacom's HSDPA offerings.
The Broadband Provider of the Year, recognizing both excellence in providing broadband access and changing the industry for the better – was claimed by Vodacom for a third year running.
It has become a tradition to hand out the Mampara of the Year award for the person or organisation who harmed the broadband market the most, and this
year Communications Minister Ivy Matsepe-Casaburri was awarded the "honour".
Matsepe-Casaburri was heavily criticized for her role in trying to fight the recent court ruling that VANS licensees could self provide and hence receive Individual ECNS licenses,.
The IT Journalist of the Year award was won by Duncan McLeod from Financial Mail, with Belinda Anderson from FinWeek winning the 2008 Business IT Journalist of the Year award.