Africa investor, an international investment research and communications group, last night announced the 2009 Africa investor Infrastructure Awards winners to the global investment community at the Cape Town International Convention Centre, South Africa.

The awards are held annually alongside the Africa investor Infrastructure Projects Summit and are designed to highlight and profile exceptional business practices and economic achievements across the infrastructure spectrum in Africa. They recognise innovative projects and reward the personalities who are driving transactions and improving the continent’s infrastructure investment climate.
Hubert Danso, vice-chairman of Africa investor, comments: “Through infrastructure investment, the private sector operating in Africa has established itself as a critical development partner. Africa investor is therefore delighted to recognise both the public and private sector partners at the forefront of projects impacting the attainment of the MDGs in Africa, whilst at the same time, delivering returns for their investors.”
This year’s winners included the African Development Bank, winning the Sponsor of the Year award and the Industrial Development Corporation, which won the award for Developer of the Year.
The Power Deal of the Year award went to Exxaro, while Nedbank Capital took Transport Deal of the Year award.
Lesotho Highlands Water Projects took gold, winning Water Deal of the Year award, and Rand Merchant Bank led the way with Social Infrastructure Deal of the Year.
The Communications Commission of Kenya won Infrastructure Regulator of the Year and Stanbic IBTC Bank Plc (a member of the Standard Bank Group) won PPP Champion of the Year.
The Infrastructure Fund of the Year went to the Pan African Infrastructure Development Fund – Harith SA.
The ICT/Telecoms Deal of the Year award went to Nedbank Capital, Investec & DBSA.
Standard Bank & ICBC won the Bank Arranger of the Year award, Bell Dawar won the award for Legal Adviser of the Year, Fieldstone Africa took the Advisor of the Year award and WBHO Construction won the Construction Company of the Year category. Please see below for the full list of winners.
The Africa investor Infrastructure Awards were supported by UNEP Finance Initiative, BEDIA, Alternative Energy, African Energy, Eurekahedge, SA Direct, NEPAD Business Group, the New Partnership for Africa’s Development, CEO Magazine, Carbon Markets and Investors Association, Modern Ghana and Business Day Nigeria.