Finalists for the inaugural African EduWeek Awards demonstrate the most innovative and life-changing projects, organisations, companies, teachers and education professionals who have been responsible for pioneering new frontiers, pushing boundaries, inspiring others and achieving growth in education in Africa.

The African EduWeek Awards categories vary from Supplier of the Year in basic and high education to Community and NGO of the Year. Winners will be announced on Wednesday evening (1 July) at Gallagher Convention Centre in Johannesburg. The winners in the Stars in Education Teachers Awards and Future Stars Awards, organised by Argo, will also be honoured during the evening.

The finalists in the African EduWeek Awards are:
* Supplier of the Year 2015, Basic Education – Edit Microsystems; Margie Ogilvy Promotions; One on One Community Based Programmes; Palanga Publishing; and Think Ahead.

* Supplier of the Year 2015, Higher Education – CCDSA; GetSmarter; TSiBA Education NPC; and Via Afrika.

* Supplier of the Year 2015, Early Childhood Development – Clamber Club; Prima Interactive; MIB Technology; and Tools for School.

* Supplier of the Year 2015, Special Needs – Edit Microsystems; MIB Technology; Sensory Solutions; and X-Stream Balance.

* Supplier of the Year 2015, ICT – Edit Microsystems; GetSmarter; Siyafunda Community Technology Centre; and Think Ahead.

* Supplier of the Year 2015, Innovation Product Award – Molteno Institute for Language and Literacy; Snapplify; The Reach Trust with the Department of Basic Education and UNICEF; Vastratech (Smart Amp); and Vastratech (Smart IFP).

* Environment Award 2015 – Collect-a-Can; Pick n Pay School Club; Samsung’s Solar Powered Internet Schools; and St Stithians College.

* Community Award 2015 – CAD4ALL Architectural & Draughting College; iSchool Press Team Programme; Siyafunda Community Technology Centre; and SpellAfrica Initiative.

* NGO of the Year 2015 – Kagiso Shanduka Trust; Knysna Education Trust; Siyafunda Community Technology Centre; and TSiBA Education NPC.

* Stars in Education, in association with Argo – Kritisha Rajcoomar, HOD, Woodview Primary School, KwaZulu-Natal; Lesiba Kwenaite, teacher, Pirwana Secondary School, Limpopo; and Selloane Mphafudi, Laerskool Westerlig, Gauteng.

* Future Stars Awards, in association with Argo – Karabo Maloka, student, University of Pretoria; Mapule Mofokeng, student, CTI Randburg Campus; and Montsheng Tryphosa Makhalemele, student, TUT.
The panel that chose the finalists and winners from 130 entries comprises leading experts in the education sector, including teachers, NGOs, suppliers and consultants.