This year, the PriceCheck Tech and E-Commerce Awards is expected to be even bigger and better than the last, with nomination submissions opening in just a few weeks.

The awards – which focus on local innovation – boasts an impressive panel of judges including serial e-commerce entrepreneur and co-founder of Groupon, Dan Guasco and entrepreneur, businessman and founder of Creative Spark, Matthew Buckland.

Aimed at recognising outstanding South African organisations and individuals in the e-commerce and technology industries, the annual awards ceremony – and tech event of the year – will take place at The Westin Cape Town Hotel on the 14th of September 2017.

Kevin Tucker, founder of PriceCheck, notes that the prestigious industry gala event is expected to draw in 350 delegates.

“As the awards are in honour of South African industry movers and shakers, we are not going to be bringing in any international speakers. Rather, the awards will be hosted by innovative South African game changers and will take the form of a TED Talks discussion.

“We are also pleased to announce that we have introduced a small business / entrepreneurial competition to the awards. The winner of this category will be selected based on a presentation of their business plan, as well as a written submission, and will receive expert guidance and analysis from the panel of judges.”

Nominations for the awards will open on Thursday, 1 June 2017 and will close on 15 June; the voting will commence on 3 July (open until 28 July).

The PriceCheck Tech & E-Commerce Awards 2017 categories are as follows:

Best Fintech Platform

Best Travel Booking Service

  • Best Niche Shopping Service
  • Best Online Classifieds Service
  • Best Delivery / Logistics Provider
  • Best Customer Service
  • Best Use of Tech by an NGO
  • Best Marketplace Platform
  • Best On-Demand Service
  • Best Mobile Shopping Experience
  • Best Female in Tech / E-commerce
  • Best Small Tech / E-commerce Business
  • Employer of the Year
  • People’s Choice
  • E-commerce Service of the Year