Measures to strengthen governance at Eskom include the appointment of new board members and stabilising management at the energy parastatal.
This follows a meeting of President Jacob Zuma, Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa, Public Enterprises Minister Lynne Brown and Minister of Finance Malusi Gigaba on Friday (19 January 2018) to address urgent challenges at the company. The intervention will be ratified by Cabinet at its next meeting.

A number of immediate measures have been taken to strengthen governance and management as a first step towards restoring confidence in the company, improving its financial position and restoring its operational performance.

The new board members are:

* Jabu Mabuza as chairperson;

* Sifiso Dabengwa;

* Sindi Mabaso-Koyana;

* Mark Lamberti;

* Tshepo Mongalo;

* Prof Malegapuru Makgoba;

* Busisiwe Mavuso;

* Nelisiwe Magubane;

* Dr Rod Crompton;

* George Sebulela;

* Dr Pulane Molokwane;

* Dr Banothile Makhubela; and

* Jacky Molisane.

In addition, Phakamani Hadebe has been appointed as the acting group chief executive with immediate effect.

The board has been directed to appoint a permanent group chief executive and group chief financial officer within the next three months.

It is also directed to immediately remove all Eskom executives who are facing allegations of serious corruption and other acts of impropriety, including Matshela Koko and Anoj Singh.

Government has called on all Eskom employees and other stakeholders who may have evidence of wrongdoing to bring this to the attention of law enforcement agencies so that culprits can be brought to book.