Dr Yvonne Muthien has been appointed as the new chairperson of the BankservAfrica Board.
Having served on the BankservAfrica board since 2014, she has already been an independent director and chair of the human resources and social and ethics committees.
Dr Muthien’s earlier positions include senior government and academic roles.
BankservAfrica is the economic infrastructure of South Africa and plays a vital role in the national payments system of South Africa. In 2017 the company embarked on a modernisation of payments infrastructure journey in collaboration with the payments community in a drive to ensure a digitally fit future in payments.
“Yvonne has played a pivotal role in this journey and we look forward to her leadership and experience in the years to come,” says Chris Hamilton, CEO of BankservAfrica.
Dr Muthien takes over from outgoing chairperson, Manne Dipico, who served on the BankservAfrica Board for nine years.
“On behalf of the board we wish to thank Manne for his years of guidance and service. We would like to take this opportunity to wish Manne well with his new ventures,” says Hamilton.
At the same meeting the board committees were reorganised so as to include two new independent directors, Nonhlanhla Jiyane and Stewart van Graan in the work of the committees.
Jiyane, a qualified auditor, becomes chair of the audit committee and joins the social and ethics committee.
Van Graan, who is already involved in the IT committee, also joins the HR committee.